Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
+
New Jersey & Pennsylvania Premises Liability Lawyer > Blog > Uber Accident > Seeking Compensation After An Uber Accident

Seeking Compensation After An Uber Accident

RideshareDriver

Uber accidents and other rideshare collisions occur more commonly than you might expect in New Jersey and Pennsylvania. The way in which an injured person might seek compensation will depend upon the particular facts of the case, including whether the Uber driver was likely at fault for the accident and whether the Uber driver had a passenger at the time of the crash. While New Jersey is a no-fault auto insurance state and Pennsylvania has a modified no-fault auto insurance law, people who are injured in a crash involving an Uber driver ultimately may be able to seek compensation through Uber’s insurance coverage. It will be important to seek advice from a New Jersey or Pennsylvania rideshare accident lawyer about your options. In the meantime, the following information will clarify how you might be able to seek compensation following an Uber accident.

When an Uber Driver is Not Working

 If you are involved in a collision with an Uber driver who is not working for Uber at the time of the crash (i.e., the Uber driver is behind the wheel for personal reasons), then the same rules apply to your case that would apply to any other type of auto collision involving another motorist. In New Jersey, you would file an auto insurance claim through your personal injury protection (PIP) coverage, and most Pennsylvania motorists will do the same. If injuries are severe and insurance does not cover losses, it may be possible to file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver.

When an Uber Driver is Working But Has Not Accepted a Ride Request 

When an Uber driver is working and driving for Uber, that driver is said to be “online.” Yet there is often a significant amount of time in which an Uber driver is online but has not accepted a ride request from a passenger. In other words, the Uber driver is ready to accept a ride request and is “online,” but does not have a confirmed ride when the accident happens. In these circumstances, there is liability insurance coverage available, with a minimum of $50,000 per person and $100,000 total for an accident, and $25,000 in property damage for a single accident. If you were injured in a collision involving an Uber driver who was “online” but did not have a confirmed passenger, you should find out about the specific coverage available in New Jersey or Pennsylvania.

When an Uber Driver Has a Passenger 

When an Uber driver is online and has a passenger at the time of the collision, there is significantly more insurance coverage available for an injured party. It may be possible to obtain coverage through Uber’s uninsured or underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage if another party was responsible for the crash. Once an Uber driver has accepted a ride, Uber also provides liability coverage of at least $1 million, and it may be more in Pennsylvania or New Jersey depending upon the facts of the accident.

Contact an Uber Accident Lawyer in Pennsylvania or New Jersey 

If you were injured in a rideshare accident, you should contact a Pennsylvania and New Jersey Uber accident lawyer at Monaco Law PC for assistance. Joseph Monaco is a New Jersey and Pennsylvania personal injury lawyer serving Atlantic County, Burlington County, Cape May County, Camden County, Cumberland County, Gloucester County, Mercer County, Middlesex County, Ocean County, Salem County and all of South Jersey.

Source:

help.uber.com/driving-and-delivering/article/what-to-do-if-youre-in-a-crash?nodeId=ab1a5837-85ea-4680-9d63-df98e8036804

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn